Bridgestone South Africa

Firestone Legendary Drives Champions crowned

Nov 22, 2012
Ross and Pridgeon

Ross and Pridgeon

Crook and Altona

Crook and Altona

Robin Ross and Greg Pridgeon are the 2012 champions of the South African Regularity Rally Association"™s Firestone Legendary Drives series after coming third in the final round, the Casa da Madeira Rally, in Gauteng on Sunday.

In a well-contested championship that saw seven different winners in the eight rounds, Ross and Pridgeon (1985 BMW 318i), who won the John Frewin Memorial Trial in September, were the most consistent pairing and completed the season with an impressively low final score of 35 penalty points.

Second in the championship with 40 points were Laurie Steyn and Syd Brett (1977 Jaguar XJ6), who won the season-opening Chicks Rally in February. Outgoing champions Schalk and Susan van Niekerk, who usually competed in one of their SAABs, were third, also with 40 points, after missing out on the championship runner-up spot on a count out.

Llewellyn Barnard and Joe Smith (1966 Alfa Romeo 164ti), who were the only pairing to win two rounds, finished fourth with 43 points. Nadine and Craig Naude (2002 Alfa Romeo 147), who won the penultimate round, were fifth with 52 points.

Winners of the Casa da Madeira Rally were Steve Crook and Mike Altona (1977 Lotus Elan) with 13 penalty points from Bill Dreyer and Stewart MacGregor (1981 Triumph TR7), who also incurred 13 penalty points but dropped to second on a count out. Ross and Pridgeon lost out on a second win of the year by four penalty points. Fourth were the Naudes in their Alfa Romeo with 19 penalties and fifth were the Van Niekerks in a 1998 SAAB 9-3) with 20 penalties.

Winners of the final round of the Total Blind Navigators Championship, which is run in conjunction with the Firestone Legendary Drives competition, were Greg Turner and Reggie Smal (2003 Lotus 7) from Susan and Pieter van Niekerk (Nissan Livina) and Alan McKenzie and Leanie Botha (Toyota Corolla).

Jerry Paice and Bonita Blankenberg again dominated the championship and were comfortable winners for the second year in succession with just seven and nine penalty points respectively. Korff was second in the drivers"™ competition with 28 points, one clear of Ralph White in third place.

Susan Webber was second in the co-drivers"™ championship with 28 points, 10 clear of third-placed Jessica Grib.

More information about the Firestone Legendary Drives series can be obtained from the SARRA website


Issued on behalf of Bridgestone South Africa by Peter Burroughes Communications, telephone 082 899 0101, e-mail

=============================== strlen:3394
Bridgestone South Africa

About Bridgestone

The Bridgestone Group is eternally committed to serving society with superior quality.

The group will fulfill our responsibilities decisively. As you reach for the future, the Group will remain by your side.